WHO The People of God

The Mission of Daman (alias St. Francis Xavier Mission) consists of the Union Territories of Daman & Diu (www.daman.nic.in/) and Dadra & Nagar Haveli (www.dnh.nic.in/) . Although Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman are 750 kms from Goa and Diu is about 1500 kms away from Goa by road (Link Where), they form part of the Archdiocese of Goa (www.archgoadaman.org) , being former Portuguese colonies.

The Mission of Daman is one of the 20 Deaneries of the Archdiocese of Goa, with some special powers due to the distance from Goa as well as the different historical, cultural and ecclesial situation (Link When).

The Church in Daman comprises of the old Christians of Daman, Diu and Silvassa, tracing their faith roots to the 16th century, and the Christians of the tribal belt of Nagar Haveli. While the Christians of Daman, Diu and Silvassa have Portuguese as their mother tongue, the tribals speak their dialects of Varli, Konknni and Dhoddi. The Liturgical languages used are English, Portuguese and Hindi in Daman, Diu and Silvassa while Marathi, Gujarathi and English is used in the tribal areas.


Parishes and Chaplaincies : 14
Other Units: 6

Catholics: ca 14,000
Priests: — 31
Sisters: — 41


Society of Pilar (SFX): 25
Pallotines (SAC) : 1
Archdiocese of Goa: 2
Capuchins (OFM –Cap): 2
Missionaries of St. Francis de Sales (MSFS): 2


Franciscan Hospitallers of Immaculate Conception (FHIC): 4
Helpers of Mary (SHM): 8
Handmaids of Christ (HC): 4
Pilar Sisters Association (PSA): 9
Holy Family of Nazareth (SFN): 7
Fransiscan Missionaries of Christ the King (FMCK): 4
Daughters of the Cross (FC): 3
Salesian Sisters (FMA) : 2